D600 FX question

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by TwoRails, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. TwoRails
    Offline

    TwoRails New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Great Northwest
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Just curious. I hear you can use the D600 as either DX or FX, but how does it work? By that I mean does it simply sense the lens you put on? ...or is there a switch / button to switch between the two?
  2. Derrel
    Online

    Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29,103
    Likes Received:
    10,113
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +10,392 / 2
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I am assuming that it works similarly to the way the D3x works, which is that it can be set to AUTOMATICALLY default to DX-sized image area whenever a DX-Nikkor is bayonetted onto the camera. OR the user can select the smaller DX-sized capture, at any time, with any lens, DX or FX lens, by pressing the FUNC button and turning the main control dial one click.
  3. Sw1tchFX
    Offline

    Sw1tchFX New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,500
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +477 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    its automatic, or in the set-up (or shooting) menu you choose your area
  4. slow231
    Offline

    slow231 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Maryland
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    yes i think it's automatic with the nikon dx lenses. but maybe not so with 3rd party lenses. I know when I put on my tokina 11-16 it was shooting in full frame mode (which is actually what i wanted since that lens puts out a ff image @16mm).
  5. TwoRails
    Offline

    TwoRails New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Great Northwest
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Great, thanks folks :)
  6. kosteger
    Offline

    kosteger New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Its actually only automatic if you set it to automatic in the custom setting menu. otherwise the function (FN) button on the bottom left serves as a FX-DX switcher thing so you press that then you move the front toggle (left or right) next to the shutter button. this feature is really helpful if you only have a wider lens like 50mm but you need a bit more reach then you can switch to DX crop mode.
  7. 480sparky
    Online

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,079
    Likes Received:
    5,281
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,355 / 1
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Factory default setting is to automatically detect DX lenses and shoot accordingly. You can, however, change that. To either shoot FX or DX regardless of the lens used.
  8. cwcaesar
    Offline

    cwcaesar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +51 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    If you use an FX lens, won't you get the same effect if you crop in post?
  9. 480sparky
    Online

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,079
    Likes Received:
    5,281
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,355 / 1
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Yes, if you crop to the right pixel dimensions. ...3,936 x 2,624 pixels
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

change dx D600

,

change dx to fx d600

,
change to fx mode on nikon d600
,
changing dx to fx nikon
,

d600

,
d600 fx dx switch
,
d600 how to change from dx to fx setting
,
d600 how to set fx dx mode
,
dx/fx button
,
how do i switch from dx to fx on nikon d600
,

how to change dx to fx mode d600

,
how to change from dx to fx on d600 settings
,
how to change to dx on d600
,
nikon d600 change to fx mode
,
nikon d600 fx dx mode how to switch
,
nikon d600 how to change dx to fx
,
nikon d600 how to switch between dx and fx mode
,
switch between fx and dx on nikon d600
,
switching fx lens to dx
,

using function buttom nikon d600 dx fx