D70 or Digital Rebel for PICTURE QUALITY ?

netspots

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

Like many others, I'm trying to decide between the Canon Digital Rebel and the Nikon D70. I understand that the D70 seems to be a better camera overall since it has many more features than the Canon -- but which one has better PICTURE QUALITY?

Let's say that I did NOT tweak the camera settings. And let's say I did NOT do any tweaking in Photoshop. If both cameras were just taken out of the box, put on AUTO and shot the same picture, which camera would produce the better picture?

I've seen comments like "the Canon produces silky smooth photos at ISO 100 that the D70 can't match" and "the Nikon D70 pictures tend to be slightly bluish or yellowish." Is this true? Has anyone here actually used both of these cameras?

I'm obviously no pro, so I don't own any prior lenses. I'm just a guy that wants to take some quality shots of my 20 month old son. Why spend this much on a camera if I'm not a pro? I'm sick and tired of the frustration from missing all the best shots with my current digital camera due to a nasty delay. I want a more expensive camera that will eliminate the delay AND provide excellent picture quality.

I know that both cameras will end up with great pictures if the proper tweaking is done. But which camera has the best picture quality right out of the box, *without* having to do any pre or post tweaking?

Honest answers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much...

Welcome to the forum.

I don't own either of those cameras but here is my two cents anyway :)

You would probably have a hard time telling the difference between the two. I'm sure there are people who can tell the difference but those are probably people who spend all their time fussing over that kind of stuff.

A bigger factor in the quality of the image is the lens. So you might get a more definitive comparison if you looked at the kit lens that comes with either camera. Probably very similar as well.