D80 exposure questions.

domromer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've had my d80 less than a week and have been taking a lot of bad photos with it. It's metering systems doesn't seem to handle contrasty scenes as well as my cannon is3. In the evening I usually go into the backyard and take sunset pics of my garden and chickens. With the is3 I would get nice pics of the golden light and nice shadows. With the D80 I seem to get totally opaque shadows and blown out light areas. I've tried a few different exposure modes and keep getting the same results. It's frustrating going from getting great pics from a 200$ p&s to getting horrible results from a 900$ SLR. Is the learning curve usually this steep when starting with a digital SLR, it's not like I'm new to photography. I've been shooting digital since 2000, and before that I was shooting slides for 5 years on my eos 3. Uggh help, frustrated!

Check if you have in 'in camera' contrast enhancing turned on. If so, turn it off I think.

Set your camera to shoot in RAW, and use the exposure compensation until the highlight are no longer burned out (check the histogram the camera can provide you with on the back screen).

Then, use the either the software provided with you camera or photoshop (or other, as long as it handles RAW files well) to bring out some more detail in the shadows.

Hope this helps,
Niels

Ok just to see if I can understand what you are saying. In the P&S you get well exposed highlights and well exposed shadows, and in the D80 you get blown highlights and cut off shadows?