D800 vs. D610 Review

Braineack

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
@Peeb asked for my thoughts on the D800 so here it is:

I've been shooting with my D600 then 610 for just over 4 years now (I got it in Dec of 2013). I bought it refurbished, after all the oil spatter issue started bringing prices down. After about a year, I started getting oil splatter, had the shutter replaced, and almost a year to the date later, I had it replaced for a D610.

I'm still blown away by the image sensor when I view photos at 100%. And I LOVE the amount of file recovery there is in a RAW file -- it's truly amazing what it can do.

In the (4) years of ownership I've had little complaints about the camera -- it was spades better than all my previous bodies: A bunch of PNS digital cameras (Coolpix, etc), the first Canon Rebel, Nikon D40, D3100 and D5100.

I've shot sports, wildlife, portraits, pretty much everything with it, without any real issues and I've always recommended it as a great cheap simple FX camera to get your foot in the door.

But after I shot a wedding in Oct, I really started finding faults; mainly in the focus module.

The AF module was taken out of the D7000 and stuffed into the D600 body. It was never really a great AF module in the D7000 and it was never really meant for an FX sensor to being with. While I've never really had focus issues with it, the AF area is a touch small, and it's never been a rapid at a snap focuser. It's fast, don't get me wrong, but it wasn't snappy, if that makes sense.

The more I've needed it in faster situations, the more I struggled with it because it didn't acquire focus quite fast enough and I wasn't able to get the moment.