D90 or D300-Worth the cost?

mtaylor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I've been looking at picking up my own camera. I've been using my Dad's D60 for a couple years, and a few different P&S's for a few years before that. The 2 cameras I am looking at are the D90 and the D300. Basically my question is with price in mind, which is the better camera.

I mainly shoot sports at the moment, both inside and outside in high and low light (Skiing and Paintball). I am also looking at trying out a bit more landscape and maybe a bit of car photography.

At the moment I only have a Nikkor 18-200mm 3.5-5.6, but I am looking to pick up a 50mm f1.8, and maybe a few others.

So, is the D300 worth the $600 price difference?

So, I've been looking at picking up my own camera. I've been using my Dad's D60 for a couple years, and a few different P&S's for a few years before that. The 2 cameras I am looking at are the D90 and the D300. Basically my question is with price in mind, which is the better camera.

I mainly shoot sports at the moment, both inside and outside in high and low light (Skiing and Paintball). I am also looking at trying out a bit more landscape and maybe a bit of car photography.

At the moment I only have a Nikkor 18-200mm 3.5-5.6, but I am looking to pick up a 50mm f1.8, and maybe a few others.

The answer depends 100% on what is important to YOU. I'm using a D80 right now and hope to get a D90 but I won't pay the current price. TO ME, the main bennies of the D90 (compared to the D80) are 1) I'd like a second body and the D80 is no longer available and 2) low noise at high ISO. Period!

The answer depends 100% on what is important to YOU
D300 is build stronger and should last longer. For example, if you're shooting 100 weddings a years with around 500-600frames per wedding, your D300 should be upgraded in about 3 yrs. D90, on the other hand isn't built like that.