dance recital need c&c badly

jarhead2042

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
here is the story, my wife belongs to a dance group and i got volunteered to take pictures while they danced...it was in a pretty big auditorium, and they had a fog machine on...my question is...would the fog machine make the majority of the u see in the pictures noise in the pictures?...i cant remember the exact settings on the camera but here is what i can remember

nikon d3000
sigma 18-200mm wide angle lens
f10
iso 1600
and i think the shutter speed was between 1/20 and 1/50

here is some of the pictures....and this is my first time attempting pictures like this so please go easy on me with the c&c lol

DSC_0032.jpg

DSC_0028.jpg

DSC_0057.jpg

DSC_0010.jpg

Not bad, considering your equipment. These are tough conditions, and you need some serious equipment to do these really well. So, you did what you could. One piece of advice would be to increase your aperture (lower f number) so that you can either have a quicker shutter speed (thereby freezing motion) or decrease the ISO (less noise). Judging from your EXIF data, your aperture was 7.1, giving you some room to increase it, depending on your focal length. Also, your shutter speed was a little slow, given the focal length. I think this was contributing to softness more than the ISO. There is a general rule of keeping the shutter speed 1/focal length. But, you have a crop sensor, so it really should be 1/1.5*focal length. So, if you are zoomed in to 200mm, your shutter speed should be 1/300. Granted there is some wiggle room; it's a general rule.

The first three don't really do much for me, but the fourth gives off an MJ vibe. With that one, though, most people would not center the subject.

Very tough to do with the D3000's CCD sensor..

Your file info is there, this is the info for the last shot

Camera Maker: NIKON CORPORATION
Camera Model: NIKON D3000
Image Date: 2010:02:13 04:57:44