Data Storage question

dangergoinoff

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am going to Vietnam for a couple of weeks in October.
This will be the first long trip I have taken since getting my dslr last year so I am expecting to be taking about 1000 photos if not more.
What i want to know is the best way to store the files for the duration of the trip?
A couple of weeks ago I started shooting a few things in RAW and am hoping to have a decent handle on this by the time I leave the problem is that my memory card now holds about 120 files instead of 620.
Is it best to get a type of external hard drive? I wont have access to a computer over there except in internet cafes and i dont really want to spend very much time in them except to write a couple of emails here and there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Matt.

Well, the number one way is to have cards that you won't delete so lots and lots of memory - however, that isn't the most cost efficient method :lol:

When I went to Thailand and Sierra Leone I bought an Epson Hard Drive where the photos could be viewed (which is fun for kids whose pictures you just took - they are awestruck) - I never had any complaints with it. I have heard the odd time of such hard drives kicking the bucket, but that would be in a rare circumstance I would imagine.

There isn't much point in having anything to do with internet cafe computers and images as from my experience, it takes about four minutes to even download a page so I doubt it would handle 4GB of data too hastily.

ETA: Watch for the drive getting fried with the inconsistent quality of power there - hopeful some techie can give you more information on that

Bust of luck on your travels!

Thanks for the tip.
I have seen those Epson hard drives advertised and would love one but the price is a bit prohibitive at the moment.

Wondering if anyone has used an iPod for this purpose?