Dealing with low sun

wadesworld

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I'm a new member here, and while I don't consider myself an absolute beginner, I don't think I yet fall into the category of "advanced."

I was shooting my child's baseball game the other day and ran into a situation on which I'd like some advice. The game started at 6 pm and I really struggled as the sun sunk down on the horizon right behind home plate.

I've posted two shots that were taken within a few minutes of each other - one looking towards home plate, and the other away. Sorry for the silly crop jobs, but I had to remove any kids that were not mine.

543016323_RCVAW-S-1.jpg

543024924_6Lym8-S-1.jpg

I considered adding some exposure compensation, but I was afraid of both losing the facial features if I made it too dark, but more so, what the impact would be as I spun away from the plate to capture the action in the field where the light was quite nice.

The photos were taken on aperture priority, with an ISO of 400 or 800 (I was going up slowly as the time got later). I was using a lens hood. Link to the full gallery here if you'd like to view all the technical detail: http://wadesworld.smugmug.com/gallery/8295442_JkWDi/1/543016323_RCVAW

I've got good gear (Nikon D300). I'm just not sure of the best way to handle this situation.

Any thoughts appreciated.

You are shooting into the sun, and getting lens flare. A nice broad flare. Try cupping your hand above the lens next time the sun is crazy like that. Youll get a difference.