Decided on a D90 and lenses, any recommendations before I place the order?

ufjamolei

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to the world of DSLR and will start taking classes this summer. After much deliberation, posts and research between the Nikon D90 and Canon 40D/50D, I have finally decided on the D90. It pretty much came down to the feel in my hand and love of my Nikon p&s, as I think they all would meet my needs. I am still agonizing over lens choice. I plan to get the Refurbished D90 ($770) and 18-105 ($190-$240)kit lens from Adorama or Cameta (deciding if it is worth spending $60 more to have the one yr Cameta warranty on top of the 90 day Nikon), the new 50mm f1.8 ($135), and a few cards. I plan to wait and find a backpack and tripod off craigslist. Is there anything I am missing to get started? Also, are my lens choices sound for a beginner? I was considering just getting the 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 instead as a step up from the kit, but I have seen many mixed reviews. I would like to eventually shoot nature, wildlife, newborns, maternity, and baseball, but right now I just need a good all around lens to learn on. I realize I will ultimately need a better lens for baseball, but will I be able to get a decent baseball shot with any of the lenses I have mentioned (college baseball, so I will be close to the field)? Thanks for your help, please be gentle!:D

Last edited:
Looks good to me. 18-105VR will be a great walk around lens. I wouldn't upgrade to the 18-200 personally cause it's a lot of money that you are paying for nothing more than convenience factor. Pick up a 55-200VR if you really want to zoom to 200mm. It's a sharper lens and even at 55mm you can get some decent portrait shots if the need arises while it's mounted. Wait until you've tried the 18-105 though...you might find that it is plenty long for what you need.