decisions, decisions.... just wanted some input!

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by PatrickCheung, Feb 23, 2010.

1. PatrickCheung

PatrickCheung TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    two things!

one, my birthday's coming up so i'm probably gonna be spending some birthday money on lenses...

two, i'm not too satisfied with my tamron 28-75mm/2.8 (newer one, with built in motor)...

i shoot a d60... and i have the 18-55 kit and that tamron i listed

here's my two problems!!
    1) i wanna invest in a nice portrait lens, my budget is around $500-$600 max (i'm a beginner, start small, right?) so i'm considering the AF-S 50/1.4 as i've heard amazing things from it, and with my d60's 1.5x crop factor it becomes an 75mm/1.4... which is a decent focal length, rather usable i'd say. i do shoot a lot of my portraits at 50mm. actually i shoot a lot of them with my E-Series 50/1.8 manual focus lens :]

OR i'm considering the AF 85/1.8, which i can't autofocus, but gives me a longer reach (of about 127.5mm), and i've heard great things about this lens.

i guess my question is... how important is auto-focus in portraiture in the field? i usually only do self portraits (for my 365) so i'm not that fussy about taking time to adjust focus, but my model might... right? the d60 only has 3 AF points... and i usually have to use the AF-override to get the focus on the eyes... so i'm thinking i'm not gonna miss AF TOO much. the reason why i ask this is 'cause well... the price of the AF-S 50/1.4 is like.. 4-5x the price of the AF 50/1.8... plus i already have a manual focus 50. my main concern is making my model wait, and possibly missing a few good shots due to my... lack of Manual Focus skills.