Developing B&W 35mm film: Did I do something wrong???

canoncajun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there all!! My name is Alan...I'm new to developing B&W film, but something appears to have went wrong. I have a roll of Kodak Tri-X 400 that I want to develop, but am testing out my developing skills first on a few rolls of cheap Arista.EDU Ultra 400 film that I bought from Freestyle. When it was all said and done, I started to squeegee the film, and bits of the film were coming off, one image had a huge chunk that came off. So I'm looking for advice. I'm thinking that maybe it might have been the fixer, or possibly that I didn't wash the film long enough. But here's what I did and I've also posted some pics below showing how my film turned out (and I used all Arista chemicals and mixed everything according to the directions on the packages):

Arista 76 Developer: 1:1 working solution @ 68°F....12 1/2 minutes with agitation the first 30 seconds, and then agitation for 5-10 seconds every 30 seconds as per the directions on the Arista.EDU Ultra 400 box.
Arista Stop Bath: 30 seconds
Arista Arifix Fixer: 4 minutes (the package says 2 minutes, but I tested the fixer on a leader from the film I clipped and the film did clear up within 2 minutes, but after researching, I doubled the time as others have suggested and determined that the fixing time should be 4 minutes)
Arista Hypo Wash: 5 minutes with flowing water, 5 minutes in the Hypo Wash with occasional agitation, and then another 5 minutes in flowing water.
Arista Wetting Agent: Added during the last 30 seconds of the wash.

When I took the film off the reel, everything appeared fine, but when I started to squeegee the film, that's when I saw that parts of the images were coming off. So did I not fix long enough, or wash long enough, or did I just maybe squeegeed too hard??? Need advice!! Thanks!

~Alan
$001 (resized).jpg$002 (resized).jpg$003 (resized).jpg$004 (resized).jpg