Did you ever want to take pictures while you drive?

Harpper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I was driving in the countryside a few days ago when I saw several great shots. The only problem was that, for one, I didn't have my camera with me, and secondly there wasn't a safe place to stop. It was a one lane road without an emergancy shoulder lane. The only thing I could do was enjoy the view myself while waving at the car tailgating behind me. :wink:

I guess if I was a dedicated photographer I should have drove through one of the fences on either side of the road and then tear my car apart in an attempt to make myself a camera out of car parts. :wink:

So how about everyone else? Were there times when you wish you had a camera with you while driving? How many of you take your camera where ever you go?

good post, i was going to post something similar, i think there may have been a post like this a while back.

pretty much when i go traveling, my d10 goes with me, rain or shine. not so much city travel because i don't feel safe to keep it in my car if i have to get out. Yeah, trying to pull over with a nasty tailgater or when there is a cliff on your side is tricky business, but if ya don't mind walking a bit once you find your 'safe place' then its worth it. I think me camera is an extension of my own body at times.

i was going post something like do you take your beloved camera outside - rain or shine?

A camera of some sort is ALWAYS with me. Usually my 10D. I don't leave it in the car though. Too risky. I lug it around earning the comment that I always have a camera bag growing out of my side. :lol: As a passenger, I occassionally stick my head out to take a picture while moving since the hubby stops for nothing. :( While driving, if I see something really cool, I either stop then or make a mental note to return at a later date. You just never know when you might find something cool to photograph.

Happens all the time and mostly where there's no place to stop.