Difference between F3.5-4.5 and F4-5.6

jordanyeo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I'm looking at getting a lense for my Olympus E500, and I've found a 40-150mm lens, with either F3.5-4.5, or F4-5.6. How much of a difference will it make? I'm still learning some camera concepts, and am unsure what the difference is. I'm looking at buying it used from keh.com, where the 3.5-4.5 is $115, and the 4-5.6 is $149. What would you reccommend for a beginner?

Thanks!

you sure its not the other way around? 3.5 149 and 4 115?

Its only a half a stop difference but the 3.5 is probably a better choice. I use canons though so Olympus might price their lenses differently.

Welcome to the forum.

The 'F' number in the name of the lens, is the maximum aperture. The lower the F number, the larger the maximum aperture. The lower (bigger) the better.

That being said, there isn't a big difference between the two you have listed...the first one has a bigger max aperture, which is good...but there are plenty of other factors involved in choosing a lens.

I would suggest you use Google to search out some reviews for both lenses and try to compare them that way.

Olympus user here also. The lower F number usually is a better choice and most often is the more expensive one. Tha being said, if you haven't made a mistake listing the prices you might want to go the Olympus website and look up the lenses. They might be in different "glass classes" making the 4.5 more expensive if they are using better "glass"

I just upgraded from the f 4.0- 5.6 to the f 3.5 - 4.5.

Unfortunately the new glass hasn't arrived yet so I can't tell you whether or not I will notice a difference.

As I understand it, the f4 (7.8 oz) is the new version and is half the size of the f3.5 (15.75 oz).

The f3.5 lens is 13 elements in 10 groups including three Extraordinary Disperson glass elements.

The f4.0 lens is 12 elements in 9 groups with one ED lens element.