Digital Beginner: Digital Print Color Problem

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by RegRoy, Jul 3, 2010.

1. RegRoy

RegRoy TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi,
    I'm a hobbyist photographer and I'm having problems being able to reproduce the colors on my screen to the colors in my digital prints.

I am capable of doing minor editing in picasa and some touch ups in photoshop, but no matter what I do I can never get the digital image on the screen to match the image that's printed (levels, exposure -- you name it)

I have a dual monitor setup (one is an LCD and the other is a CRT) and I've been using print processors like CVS and Walgreens (and I've been trying with both screens since I know there is some difference). I didn't want to try other online services like Snapfish yet beacuse I figure that there's something that I"m doing wrong on my end - so I don't want to waste time and money until I figure it out.

Lastly, I did go in to Walgreens photo and I asked them if they have some kind of color guide that I can use to match my screen colors to their printer colors -- but they said no. Their only advice was to bring in a USB key and check the images on their kiosk prior to printing because this they said was a more accurate representation of the end product. I tried that and had no luck.

Anyway, any advice you have on how I can make the real prints look more like the images on the screen will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.
    R

2. gryphonslair99

gryphonslair99 Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    Have you hardware calibrated you monitor? If not then the likely hood is that YOU are not seeing the correct colors. Google monitor calibration tools. You will find things like the Spyder 3. That would be the first place to start. There are several makers, Huey, Panatone, Datacolor to name a few.

3. RegRoy

RegRoy TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit