Digital Rebel Stock Lens Question

stymiee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
First let me preface my post by acknowledging that I am not a professional, or even amateaur photographer. My wife and I currently own a digital camera which is four years old and we feel no longer suits our needs. We've set a budget of about $500 for a new camera but we're not afraid to spend more if we feel we'll really get a good value for our money.

My wife has identified three cameras that she feels would suit us well. One of them is the Digital Rebel. However she seems to believe that the lens on it is very poor. This is based on information she's found online. I can't tell you who the source is or how credible it is but she seems to be convinced enough to rule out the rebel as an option. I work with a graphic designer who sold cameras for eight years and after giving her a comparison sheet of the three cameras we've identified she says the digital rebel is by far the best.

If I am going to convince my wife the Rebel is the better option, I need to be able to convince her the lens is ok. So my question to you is this: how good or bad is the stock lens on a digital rebel?

(If you're curious, the two other camera being considered are the Fujifilm FinePix S7000 Z and Panasonic DMC-FZ20. I originally posted this in a kodak forum but I figured that might be a good idea to get a non-kodak specific point of view.)

Everything I've heard thus far, from here and another website, says that the lens with the rebel is really good. You can check out an in depth review of it and the other cameras at www.dpreview.com

I think they even gave it a Highly recommended rating on that site. Good luck with the camera hunting, welcome to the forum, and let us know what you decide on. :D

Welcome to the forum.