Digital SLR Specs & Purchasing Advice

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by SuperSpark, Apr 12, 2010.

1. SuperSpark

SuperSpark TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've been doing Photography for about 2 years now and am one of my school's yearbook photographers. The model they use is I think a Nikon D300, however it's the school's so I can only really use it on yearbook assignments.

I am currently looking into buying a good Digital SLR myself to continue photography after I graduate, but I'm kinda broke. I'm trying to invest in one but I'm not sure what to get. The highest I'm willing to buy one for is probably around $500.

What brands/models do you recommend and why? Also, what specs should I look for and what are good amounts of said specs?

Last edited: Apr 12, 2010
  2. mdtusz

mdtusz TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    If your school has a D300 for you to use, you're going to hate that budget of yours when it comes time to shop. The D300 is a ~$1200 body alone. With $500, you will be able to get a camera in the range of a Nikon D60 or one of the Canon Rebel series. I don't know enough about the Canon's though. My advice would be to:

a) Save up
    b) Ask the school if they want to invest in a new camera and sell you their D300
    c) Get what you can for $500 but look at used first. There are great deals to be had.

3. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    In your price range specs won't matter a whole lot and any camera brand will be about the same as far as specs, image quality, and features.

All will be fairly limited since a budget of $500 is the bottom of the entry-level market segment.

You can find the specs for current Nikon cameras at nikonusa.com, current Canon cameras at canonusa.com, and Pentax at pentaximaging.com.