Digital SLR vs Digital with fixed lens

robinkay6573

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been an amateur photographer since I was 8 years old when I got my first P&S. I used that little camera for about 15 years and got great photos. My mom had a 35 MM Canon EOS that I used occasionally. When I moved from Vermont to Michigan it was time for me to buy my own camera. It isn't a fancy camera but I have taken some really great photos with my Minolta 330si. I have a 70-400 (I think?) zoom lens for it which I used almost exclusively now. I don't know much about cameras but I feel like I have a good eye. I got a Kodak P&S in 2004 and I love it. My little camera is always in my bag. One thing I don't like is the camera has a 3 x optical zoom on it. I use my cameras for vacation and minor league baseball (I am a season ticket holder). Taking my little digital camera to baseball games is pretty much pointless unless the guys are right on top of me or I am taking a "landscape" photo of the field. When I want to get good photos of action on the field I take the Film SLR with my zoom lens. I can’t snap quick photos with my SLR camera and it is HUGE so getting action photos is almost impossible.

I am ready to purchase a new camera. What are the differences between a fixed lens digital camera with a zoom and a DSLR with zoom? I am thinking of biting the bullet and getting a DSLR but they seem clunky and heavy and I am trying to stay away from having to lug that huge camera with me to the games and on vacation (that is why I am looking at fixed lens cameras).

As long as the sun is out I can take great photos with the zoom on my SLR and no tri pod. I don't want to buy a new camera and still have to take the "old" SLR because I get grainy photos when using the zoom.

Here is a photo from last year taken with my SLR early during a night game

594057-R1-12-12A.jpg