Dinner with my 1yr old daugther

DWilks

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First photo post as I am just learning this digital thing. Hopefully I will be posting more as I learn.

I Snapped these of my daughter as she was on a mission do get her clothes as dirty as possible.

C&C Welcome

DSC_0102.jpg

DSC_0401.jpg

channycup.jpg

Cute kid.
To keep these from looking too much like snapshots there are several things you can do. Your backgrounds, while slightly blurred are still really distracting. Since these are pictures of your daughter and not your living room and kitchen, try taking the photos vertically and filling the frame with your daughter.
Your lighting looks the best on #2. The other two came out underexposed. Also, for a black and white, there is way too much middle grey. Try lightening them and boosting the contrast in your post processing so that you get true blacks and whites.

The other two came out underexposed. Also, for a black and white, there is way too much middle grey. Try lightening them and boosting the contrast in your post processing so that you get true blacks and whites.

Is there a program you would recommend for doing this?

I use Photoshop. I've heard others mention Gimp and Lightroom. If you are looking for a free download you can try a google search for free photo editing programs.

Thanks for the help, I will play around with it.

DSC_0102-1.jpg

I agree that the black and whites are far too dark and gray. Photoshop would be a great tool to have!