Dirt basics to set up shop

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by wyattsmoma, Feb 22, 2008.

1. wyattsmoma

wyattsmoma TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am a talented photographer, give me a camera and I can get almost pro-looking pictures... I know this, I have spent hours and hours doing it. I want to take it to the next level now though and I was wondering if anyone could give me a dirt basic list of the items I will need ( or REALLY want) to set up a small studio in my home. Mostly to use for friends and their families at first but after I have a nice portfolio set up I would like to open my options to include A Lot more.

I am also wondering if anyone out there can help give me ideas on what camera to buy next ( mine had a tragic accident with a two year old and her toys... :( ) I am on a tight budget for now and was thinking about getting the fujifilm s8000 fd camera, simply because it is in my price range ( actually under my cap) and Has some really good reviews. But will that be enough for a "professional" Photographer? Or do I actually NEED to get a nicer camera. I am thinking the money I save could go to backgrounds or lights....

I could really use someone to mentor me, But being that I am overseas for now I cant attend classes or workshops anytime soon!

As the money for the Camera is due in anytime now I would really love some good advice from someone who knows!

thanks in advance

Lura

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The dirt basics might be a window and a reflector. Or maybe you would need a three or four light set up. There is no right answer.