Disappointing Photos with Nikon D3200

stevenlanephotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been using the Nikon D3200 for nearly 3 years now having upgraded from a bridge camera. I have consistently been disappointed with the photos, which always seem to lack vibrancy and sharpness. The lens I use is: Nikon Dx AF NIKKOR 18-55 (VR). I also use a Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 55-300mm which produces somewhat better results.

Previous photos from my bridge camera were more vibrant and sharper. I am familiar with holding the camera properly etc to avoid camera shake. I have also tried using a tripod. My wife seems to get better pictures using a budget phone (Moto G4 Plus).

I attach a photo taken with the D3200 ( a little over exposed I think, but which still demonstrates the point, compared with the other photo of the same scene taken seconds later with the camera phone - so in much the same light and conditions.

I also always notice that photos from the D3200 seem to have a certain shade of green and appear very flat.

I am seriously thinking of selling the camera and starting again.

I wonder first though if anyone might comment or advise ( Am I asking too much from an entry level DSLR).

I have tried uploading my D3200 file but after 5 attempts of getting an error message, I am instead inserting a link to my google drive. The moto g4 image is below as a thumbnail.

walking with a friend.JPG

moto g4 shot.jpg Moto G4 Shot

Wish you have much more information.
The image does not have the EXIF information so much is hard to discern.