Do cameras like the Canon 300D use any battery power when auto powering off?

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by DwainDibley, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. DwainDibley

    DwainDibley TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Just wondering, as I frequently when out and about turn the camera on then let it auto power off after a minute so that if I see a photo opportunity all I need to do is tap the shutter button for the camera to power up again.

    Obviously it will consume a bit of power before it shuts itself off, but do dSLRs consume any power when in this 'standby' mode when they auto power off?

    Hope you understand what I mean! :greenpbl:
     
  2. jstuedle

    jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    S.E. Indiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I see you have no responses yet. I can't speak for Canons, but Nikon's use very little power when in stand-by mode. My D1X's, known for there habit of eating batteries will run for some time in standby. I have left a camera on and in it's case for almost 2 weeks and it still would shoot. I am sure your Canon is much the same.
     
  3. WDodd

    WDodd TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amherst (Cleveland), Ohio
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thats correct. Theres a lot of times I forget to turn my XT off and it still shoots when I go back to use it. I've been getting better at remembering to turn it off when I'm not using it.
     
  4. DwainDibley

    DwainDibley TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Sounds good, I guess then that the camera doesn't consume any power, or at least barely any power when in the 'standby' mode. It's probably just laziness on my part, but when out and about with my camera I like to leave it on and let it go into standby mode so it's easier to get it powered on - though not sure if it's much quicker or not!
     
  5. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It depends entirely on what gets turned off. The technicals behind the Nikon D200 is that the back LCD and the exposure metre gets turned off (a small CCD on the top of the penta prism). I can only assume the microcontroller would go into a reduced power state if not all the way down to a wake on interrupt.

    I would imagine you'd get 300 hours out of it in standby from normal batteries, so probably more from the LI batteries DSLRs use.
     
  6. Jon, The Elder

    Jon, The Elder TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern Michigan
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Dwain..... I walk around all day (10 hour shoots) with the camera set for 2 minute turn off. I primarily use a 70-200f2,8 so there is all kinds of battery drain. I have NEVER run out of power. It is a waste of time turning your camera on and off all the time. That is what the feature is all about. Remember we are talking Millivolts here.
     
  7. PatriK-b

    PatriK-b TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    We are more probably talking about microamps here ;)

    So, yes, they do consume, they have, at least to be able to wake up :)

    A full loaded battery will last for months in this condition, consider that batteries are about 1000maH and we are talking about ua. Some cameras, like my 30D and probably others, are never totally off. When you change the CF, even in off mode (not standby), the card is read as soon as inserted, red led is flashing.
     
  8. Jon, The Elder

    Jon, The Elder TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern Michigan
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Oops.....thanks for the catch. Wrong info is worse than none.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
canon 300d aa batteries
,
canon 300d longer battery life
,
canon auto power off battery
,
canon eos battery consumption in stand-by
,
canon rebel batery drained
,
does canon 300d use aa batteries
,
what kind of batteries does canon 300d use
,

what kind of battery do i need for my canon 300d

,
what kind of battery does a canon 300d camera use?
,

what kind of battery does the canon 300d used