Do I need CS3?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by AJK, Sep 5, 2008.

1. AJK

AJK TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm an amateur (waiting until the d90 comes out to buy my d80) with much more experience shooting film than digital. therefore, my software knowledge is seriously lacking. that said, can i get away with lightroom for strictly hobby purposes? i'm not too excited to drop a ton of money on software. comp is a macbook.

2. lockwood81

lockwood81 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I have Lightroom and Photoshop elements 6. I realy don't use lightroom at all. I pretty much do everything in Photoshop Elements. Its a very powerful program.

3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'd suggest Photoshop Elements, it will do most of what Photoshop can do, but it's much less expensive.

4. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    I agree and elements 7 is comming out very soon

5. skieur

skieur TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Take a look at PaintShop Pro X2 with the Viveza Plug in. The advantage is that it is that this combo is very fast, intuitive, easy to use and might cost you a total of $300 or less, depending on where you live.

skieur

6. chrisburke

chrisburke TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    i agree with Big Mike.. i use a macbook as well.. I use lightroom and CS3 but elements will do you good if your still learning the software side

7. Call_me_Tom

Call_me_Tom TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I have both CS3 and Lightroom (LR) and I use CS3 exclusively. I liked LR when I was just running CS2 but the new "Bridge" that comes with CS3 along with ACR does everything that LR did plus more. I also couldn't stand using more then one program in my Post Processing (PP) work flow and CS3 does it all for me.