do memory cards wear out?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by emogirl, Jan 9, 2007.

1. emogirl

emogirl TPF Noob!

I was told once that memory cards do wear out....kind of like a video tape being tape over so many times, eventually the quality goes kaput. Is this true? The reason I ask, a friend sent me pics from her camera and she is haivng problems....mostly streaks thru all her pics, i have never seen anything like it before in 15 years of photography....having gone over her camera and pics thoroughly, that is all that i could come up with. Since I am quite new to digital, I need your folks help!!! Sorry, i dont have the pics anymore to show you.

thanks, Kim
    Please feel free to move this thread to the correct forum if i'm not there.

2. emogirl

emogirl TPF Noob!

im bumping this in hopes of getting an answer...thanks'

3. mysteryscribe

mysteryscribe TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I don't know but you looked lonely... My guess is that it would take a long time and more likely have an accident first but i guess everything wears out eventually.

4. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would guess that the camera would have problems before the card...there are just so many more things that could go wrong with a camera. The test is simple...just try the card in a different camera. If the problem persists with both cameras...then it's the card...If not, then it's the camera :(

5. emogirl

emogirl TPF Noob!

yes....that was our solution, she was trying the little card that came with her camera and see what happens....in the meantime, while i'm waiting to hear back from her, i was trying to find out about the memory card wear....so i'm guessing you have never heard of that??

6. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit