Do they ALL do that?!

Christie Photo

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.christiephoto.com
Being a photographer, I'm often asked for a recommendation on camera purchase. My good friend just asked me about point-and-shoots. I started to wade through the ads and decided to call Canon directly.

The one point-and-shoot in my house (my wife's) is the only one I've ever handled. One thing I HATED about it was a delay between the time I pressed the shutter release and the time the shutter tripped. Canon told me ALL their point-and-shoots operate that way. So did Nikon.

Does anyone make a camera without this frustration?

Thanks.
Pete

I've got a Canon A540 and it does delay. It doesn't bother me too much though.

I've got a Canon A540 and it does delay. It doesn't bother me too much though.
Have you used a DSLR, or even a film SLR...or even a film P&S? If not, then the delay might not bother you. However, if you are used to the almost instant response from a camera...then that little delay seems like it's a year.

Sorry Pete...all the digicams I've used are terrible...and even worse depending on the situation (waiting for AF in a dark room).

Have you used a DSLR, or even a film SLR...or even a film P&S? If not, then the delay might not bother you. However, if you are used to the almost instant response from a camera...then that little delay seems like it's a year.

Sorry Pete...all the digicams I've used are terrible...and even worse depending on the situation (waiting for AF in a dark room).

Yes, I have used film SLRs. I know that digital P&S have bad shutter lag compared to (d)SLRs, but the Canon A540's isn't actually that bad compared to others in its class, even in lower light and whatnot. Unfortunately, I don't really have a choice, as I don't have the money for a dSLR, plus photography is just a hobby for me, not a profession, so I don't make any money from it (at least not yet).