Do you need filters anymore if you have PS

norris_watkins

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im a beginner ( Although I ve been walking around with camera for a long time )
In the old days of optical camera, I used to see people with many filters in their bag ( like warming filter, orange filter, star burst etc. ).

But since I have a new Canon Xsi Digital camera and Photoshop, do I need filters anymore ( which not only introduces optical artifacts but also eats up light, I read ).
Cant I do these kind of filtering using Photoshop. ?

--nw

while a lot of filters commonly used with film are now obsolete with digital photography there are still a few that cannot be recreated or are much too annoying to recreate with photoshop
a polarizing filter, for example, boosts colors while deepening blue and green, as well as cuts down on reflection, this effect cannot be reproduced in photoshop
as well as, say the UV filter, which cuts down on UV haze in a photo (as well as being the generic "protective" filter for lenses)

so, really its a matter of knowing which filters u want to use, and if the effects can be recreated in photoshop or not

Another useful filter is the graduated ND (Neutral Density). It can save alot of photoshop work.

Another useful filter is the graduated ND (Neutral Density). It can save alot of photoshop work.

And you *can't* recreate the regular ND filter effect in photoshop. So if you like to take long exposures in the day (ie, waterfalls) you pretty much need a ND filter.

Just adding to the list.

Don't go overboard buying filters. It can get expensive and, depending on what you shoot, you may find you don't need what you bought. Get yourself a circular polarizer (you'll be glad you did) -- then buy the others as you learn that you need them.

And if your considering ND grads you may want to have a look at the Cokin P series square filters. You can adjust them to fit your landscape shots.