Do you remove your battery grip for tripod use?

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by Destin, Oct 7, 2017.

?

Do you remove your battery grip for landscape/tripod shooting?

  1. Yes

  2. No

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. astroNikon

    astroNikon 'ya all Bananas I tell 'ya Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    3,202
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ron
    With the Canons do t you remove the body battery and put it in the grip. And the grip has an extension that goes into the body making it inconvenient to remove the grip?

    With the nikons you keep one battery in The body and the grip contains one and screws on the bottom. This making it convenient to take on and off in a few seconds.


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Destin

    Destin Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    664
    Location:
    Western New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I’m not buying the D5 battery. 7fps is plenty fast for me. I just prefer the way the grip feels when shooting vertically.

    I already own 4 of the batteries the D850 takes. The nice thing about Nikon recently is that all of their prosumer and semi-pro bodies since the D7000 have taken the same battery.
     
  3. Gary A.

    Gary A. Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18,358
    Likes Received:
    5,873
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yes. I dunno about inconvenient. Not that big of a deal, remove the battery in the body, then slip the grip extension into the battery well now vacated by the battery.
     
  4. Frank F.

    Frank F. engineering art Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Bonn
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have a custom made NPP-tripod-head and need to remove the battery grip in order to mount the camera to the head.
     
  5. fmw

    fmw No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    467
    No, I don't use battery grips. I bought one once to try it out but I didn't like - particularly the weight and bulk.
     
  6. snowbear

    snowbear Big Furball Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12,609
    Likes Received:
    4,325
    Location:
    SoMD
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I haven't tried the grip with the tripod but today I put the QR on the grip, Surprisingly, I hardly noticed it.

    One exception is the F/N90 film body - the grip has an extension that fits into the camera's battery compartment, so you only get one set of AA batteries either way, gripped or grip-less.
     
  7. Dave442

    Dave442 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    379
    I just use one camera with a grip and the other without. Almost always the camera placed on the tripod is the one without the grip.
     
  8. rosh4u

    rosh4u TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Surat
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit


    Yes, I take off battery grip when using a tripod for 2 as it feels stable to shot and exposure can be managed too.
     

Share This Page