Dodging and Burning

aggiezach

Yup...
Reaction score
Website
jessandzach.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok so I have this negative of something I shot in pretty much the harshest light possible (noon!, I know, I didn't have a choice sorry!! :) ) So the half of the subject that was in the sun I need to burn a bit and the half that was in the shade I need to dodge. ( I think thats right) being that I'm new to this part of printing. how do you go about dodging or burning multiple spots on an image? Do you do it all at once by just moving from point to point? Or do you reduce your exposure time and just expose the image more than once and focus on certain areas during each exposure? I've printer 4 or 5 different photos trying different technique (all were just one long exposure) and a couple came out ok, but I can still improve them. (can always improve!! )

Thanks for the help in advance!!

Zach :D

You have to decide if it's easier to dodge while you are exposing, or burn after your normal exposure time. You can't really dodge multiple points at the same time, although you can move from one to the next area during the print exposure. It's easy to go back in and burn specific areas one by one. Often it requires a combination.

You can purchase expensive dodging tools, but it's easy and fun to make your own. Floral wire (for wrapping flower stems together) with an odd shaped bit of cardboard taped on the end is good. Usually you'll want to avoid using clear shapes such as squares and circles. I like to tear out my shapes; this makes them irregular, and you won't accidentally burn or dodge in a straight line.

For burning I've been using larger pieces of cardboard with various sized holes torn in them. But recently I saw this DIY tool at a darkroom workshop that I call a "burn pallet". I'll go over to Adobe PS, and fire up a sketch so you guys can see what I'm talking about.

aggiezach said: