does anyone know ho to shoot "ray of light" effectively?

nina_sayang

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i'm a beginner.. i want to learn how to shoot sun ray of light effectively. i have try for many times, but it's results is too dark or too bright. what i have to do? i want to know how is the camera setting, what is the best angle, the exposure, etc...

and i have another question...how to make a great contrasty and dramatic light like this:

http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=2053295

thanks before.

I would be betting that the ray of light was entirely done in photoshop. Hopefully someone can help you out though :)

In this particular photo that you chose as your example here, Nina, the ray looks definitely photoshopped. More so since angle of ray and point where it is supposed to light up the tree and child don't tally ... the angle is far too steep for the ray to hit where it does here.

As to photographing rays: wait for hazy days, and go shooting early, quite early, when the sun is still low. You will see the rays with your eyes and ... when you deliberately underexpose your photos just a little (1 stop, 2 at the most), they should come out nicely in your pictures.

Afterwards you can still tweak your photo in Photoshop or any other postprocessing software that comes with the camera or a scanner or so (they all come with CDs!) to increase the contrasts. Let's see what you get soon as you get your first rays, ok ;).

Welcome to ThePhotoForum, by the way (before I forget... :oops: :D)

That shot was not Nina's, Chris, but one that she aspires to be able to shoot (or create) one day.