Does the Nikon SB600 have a photocell?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by eclipse13, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. eclipse13

    eclipse13 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington/Greenville, NC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Can the SB600 be fired by the on camera flash?
     
  2. kundalini

    kundalini Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,601
    Likes Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    What body do you have?

    From D80 and up, the answer is yes. Just set you on-board flash to commander mode, then either use TTL or Manual settings. Bob's your uncle.

    If the on-board is set to Mode (--), it will not contribute to the scene and only act as a pre-flash for the SB-600 to flash. Make sure the channels are the same for flash and menu channel.
     
  3. Big Wallaby

    Big Wallaby TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Buena Vista, FL
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hmm... I have both a 600 and an 800, I always use my 600 on camera (or by wire) and have it set off my 800 when I use both. Never done it the other way... maybe because I decided it was impossible... I don't remember, actually...
     
  4. kundalini

    kundalini Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,601
    Likes Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Big Wallaby, I have both as well. If I am using both flashes for a scene, it is almost a 99.9% guarantee that neither flash will be on the camera. TTL is okay and will give great results, but I prefer to use the flashes in manual mode. Both are triggered by the on-board flash in (--) Mode.

    The whole point of the SB-600 and SB-800 is to be able to use them wireless right out of the box. So when you say (or by wire) I am confused.
     
  5. eclipse13

    eclipse13 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington/Greenville, NC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have a D50. I'm hoping to fire the SB600 wirelessly without having to buy anything else, but I'm afraid that's not going to happen.
     
  6. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    THe SB-600 is CLS compatible and requires a compatible commanding speedlight or on-camera flash.

    The SB-600 does NOT have an SU-4 mode as far as I am aware, meaning you can not trigger it wirelessly without a CLS capable commander flash. The SB-800 does have this mode and will work wirelessly with every flash even that of my sister's point and shoot.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does sb600 works with photocell
,
how to make fotocell to fireup flash with flash
,
nikon flash with photocell
,
nikon sb 600 photocell
,

sb-600 photocell

,
sb600 photo cell
,

sb600 photocell

,
sb600 photocell trigger
,
speedlight sb-600 photocell
,
which nikon speedlight has photocell