Does this sound like a good plan? - With sample pics

Parker219

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Since I am a Realtor, I take the pictures for all my teams listings for houses less than 200k. For all houses 200k plus we higher a professional. I am currently using a Nikon p510, which is more known for the zoom, but has a small sensor.

I dont want to replace the pro, but I would like to take better pics even for the lower priced houses than what I am currently taking.

I want to take pictures LIKE the pro or as close to his quality as I can.

So this is the plan. Buy the D7100 body only for $1,200.

Then buy this lens for $550 wide angle shots which are needed for Real Estate- Also I figure it will be a good lens to walk around with - Amazon.com: Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX ED VR Nikkor Wide-Angle Telephoto Zoom Lens for Nikon DSLR Cameras: NIKON: Camera & Photo

Then buy this lens for $430, because I want to zoom in on a bugs behind if I want - Amazon.com: Nikon 85mm f/3.5G AF-S DX ED VR Micro Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras: NIKON: Camera & Photo - Nothing really do do with real estate, more for personal use.

So my question is, does this sound like a good plan? Pretend you were me, and had between $2,000-$3,000 to spend on a camera/lens. Is this what you would get ( sticking with Nikon )?

Since I want wide angle, should I consider another brand lens that is 10 or 12mm that would be even wider than the lens I mentioned which is 16mm?

In case you are curious to see what the professionals photos look like, and so you can get an idea of what I want my photos to look like, here is the link - https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8tp18nzfj8t8my2/WnlcNGAZmc#/

The photo that impresses me the the most, is the 3rd photo on the top line. You get a nice wide angle, plus the pool can still be seen, even through the bright window. I wonder what his set up is.

Any responses will be greatly appreciated!