Does your light meter work with a lensbaby?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by crawdaddio, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. crawdaddio

    crawdaddio TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Central IL
    As the title asks. I posted this in the LB forum, but I don't think there's too much traffic over there. Their website says 'It will not communicate electronically with your camera'. Does anyone know if the light meter still works TTL though? I am using a nikon D50 and N80 35mm BTW. So anyone who has one (I know you're out there), does yours work?

    Thanks in advance
    ~DC
     
  2. Rolleistef

    Rolleistef TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Somewhere, over the rainbow.. (paris)
    Hi,
    I don't know for your F80 but you'll certainely have to work with a handheld meter with the D50... you can only use AF/D/S/G and AIP lenses if you want a built-in meter.

    But you'll get used to the handheld meter it very quickly... if you've never tried it, aim the meter at a grey card, and measure...
    you then set the shutter speed and aperture and let's shoot...
     
  3. Unimaxium

    Unimaxium TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Northeastern University, originally from Philly
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I know Nikon has crippled some of their digital cameras (namely the D70 and D50) so that the light meter won't work without an AF lens attached. I don't know if the same applies to their film cameras or not.
     
  4. zedin

    zedin TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Irvine, Orange County, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Even if it doesn't work you could always just take your best educated guess and check the histogram. Although doing that while trying to hold your lensbaby in place incase you need to retake the shot would be difficult.
     
  5. bigfatbadger

    bigfatbadger TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    You could get roughly there without making the actual shot and then bracket around it?
     
  6. crawdaddio

    crawdaddio TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Central IL
    Thanks much. that was what I was afraid of.
     
  7. spiky_simon

    spiky_simon TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    the manual that comes with the lens says that it has no TTL metering with the D50, so I guess you're out of luck.

    It looks like it applies to the film bodies too, Unimaxium.

    It's a shame because metering works just fine with Canon bodies. I wonder if there's a way to trick the camera into thinking that it has an AF lens attached?
     
  8. I use the histogram with my Canon 5D, it's more accurate anyway.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

lensbaby and light meter

,

light meter doesn't work with lensbaby

,

metering with lensbaby

,

why no light meter with lensbaby?

,

will lensbaby meter?