Dog (sports) Photography: focus question

Desi

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I've been taking some photos of my dog at the beach. I'm pretty new to this sports type of photography, so I have a question about focus modes.

I'm trying to get a good shot of my dog creating a whole mess of sand exploding as she gets the ball. To this end, I have someone throw the ball at me and I shoot the dog as she runs at me. I shoot a nikon d800 with a 70-200 lens. Single focus point. continuous focus mode keeping my finger depressing the button as I track the dog. I've noticed that most of my shots have the dogs mid-section in focus with her face slightly out of the focal plane.

Any thoughts on getting improved focus? Again, the dog is running right at me and fairly close (15-20 feet).

Here's an example

Exploding Sand by Desi595, on Flickr

Thanks,

Desi

I couldn't read the EXIF or see the point of focus, so I'm only guessing.

Could be the DOF is too thin.

What we know: The distance is pegged at 8 feet from the camera. We know the camera and the lens, but we would need to know the aperture when you shot. We would also need to know the focal length of the shot.

Hi Desi,

More depth of field would/should help (F8 maybe), and also you may try using more focus points to help as opposed to just one. Not familiar with Nikon, but maybe this video at about the 2:35 mark will help.

I couldn't read the EXIF or see the point of focus, so I'm only guessing.

Could be the DOF is too thin.

What we know: The distance is pegged at 8 feet from the camera. We know the camera and the lens, but we would need to know the aperture when you shot. We would also need to know the focal length of the shot.

Went to the Flickr link - shot at F6.3 @ 200mm

200mm at f6.3. Not sure about the distance in this particular shot. f6.3 because I wanted to get the shutter speed to 1/1000. The focus point is central, the photo is cropped.