Doing a high key photo

k5MOW

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good morning everyone

I would like to try to do high key portraits in my small living room. I would like all of you opinions on my idea of equipment.
I was thinking of buying two continuous light stands with four 45 W bulbs in each and two 16 x 24 soft boxes for Front soft lighting. I also would have a on camera flash with a soft box.
To blow out the white background I was thinking of using a off camera flash on a light stand behind The subject.

What are all of your suggestions do you think this will work OK or do you think I should do it in a different manner.

Thank you Roger

Can't help you, but I am interested in reading the response from those who know. In particular the response to your comment about blowing out the white background.

I am not an expert on the subject but I have messed around with it. My initial thought would be a white backdrop and a speedlight behind the subject. The EC button on your camera can be very helpful. The issue I ran into was too much light behind the subject so I had to manually adjust the flash down. Getting the white background was the easy part. Exposing the subjects face correctly against the overexposed background is the challenge, adding stops of EC helps sort it out.

I have had only limited success with continuous lighting, still life flowers... They just are not powerful enough and I would hate to see you waste money that could be used towards a strobe or speedlight. I may be wrong but I would think speedlights at a minimum.

A hand held light meter that can meter flash, reflected, and incident light greatly simplifies setting the exposure of the multiple flash units and the exposure of the subject.
To keep light from the background from interfering with the subject the subject needs to be we'll in front of the background, like 8 feet, or more.

Unfortunately, continuous lighting is ambient light.