Dreaded Sigma 70-200mm Autofocus problem

Shaft

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all !! Great forum and first time poster.

I just purchased a used Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM for my Nikon D300. It worked great during testing before I bought it, but the following day the autofocus all of a sudden completely stopped working. I cleaned the contacts on the camera and the lens just to make sure and also switched to other lenses -- everything worked except for the Sigma. Probably why the guy sold it to get rid of a problematic lens. From what read lately this seems to be a common problem on this Sigma lens.

I realized that I need to send this in to a authorized Sigma repair shop and I'm wondering for the people who had experienced this kind of repair before, how much did you end up spending to fix the issue?

Does this mean the HSM needs to be replaced?

I would like to know before I start calling the repair centers so I have some sort of knowledge when I talk to the technician.

Any thoughts and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Last edited:
I haven't heard of the problem, personally, but that doesn't mean much. You made sure the AF switch is fully in position and all of that jazz too? Did you get the original receipt with the lens from the guy?

I just had to have my Tamron 70-200 completely rebuilt as it totally fell apart. It ran me $250. Really not bad considering it fell apart and the front half fell to the gym floor. I haven't had my Sigma serviced yet, so I have no direct experience with Sigma, but I'd expect them to be on par with the rest of them. Mine goes in for servicing in December.

In my experience repairs are expensive, but overall much cheaper than you'd expect. I prefer to deal with the Sigma/Tamron/Canon or Nikon repair than a repair shop, but probably only because I don't have a repair shop near me. I'd then compare.