dreamweaver help

Discussion in 'Off Topic Chat' started by Meysha, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Finally getting off my ass and making this website I promised I would do for some friends. But having never made a 'real' website before... I'm coming across a few problems.

    The site already has a bunch of photos loaded onto the server. I want to link to these photos already there. So I go Insert>image and then put the address in. But it says that I need to specify a valid HTTP address in the Site definitions.

    ok so i understand what it wants from me... but where do I put the it in??? :confused:
     
  2. bace

    bace TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,941
    Likes Received:
    72
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've always found the best solutions to computer problems was large magnets.

    I put them right beside my computer, near the hardrive.

    Works every time.
     
  3. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It must be very hard for you to use computers then... you sexy chick magnet you! hehehe :lol:

    I'm surprised you didn't pick up on this.

    I think I found the answer anyway, under preferences.
     
  4. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    You're probably better off editing the code directly to put the link as a relative path rather than trying to locally specify the internet path? Perhaps download the files locally and create the site?

    e.g.
    <a href="index.htm"><img border="0" src="images/logo.jpg" alt="logo"></a>

    rather than:

    <a href="index.htm"><img border="0" src="http://somesite.com/images/logo.jpg" alt="logo"></a>
     
  5. bace

    bace TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,941
    Likes Received:
    72
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I did pick up on it, only with my limited understanding of web programming, I deduced that it might be some techy lingo I'm unaware of. Therefore the possibility of looking like a complete ass detered me from making any comments.

    However in hindsight, looking like a complete ass is something I do on a regular basis. I should have taken the opportunity.

    Next time Meysha....next tiiiime.

    TO THE BACE MOBILE!
     
  6. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    hahaha! ahh you crack me up justin! ;-)

    Rob, I was trying to do it the way you suggested just going /gallery/image.jpg But I didn't realise I had to download the image locally first.
    :-( Well off I go to do that now.
    Thanks. I'll be back for more questions for sure.
     
  7. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    New Question

    Frames or no frames.
    I've always heard that frames are just hell for websites especially when search engines try and use them. But I don't know how to get around not using them... maybe they're not that bad for this situation.

    This is the old site I'm redesigning: http://www.themeadowsmusic.com/gallery.htm
    Coz i heard frames are bad, i wanted to get rid of it. But in the websites control panel, the last person who made the site has made this groovy uploading admin panel thing for the images for the gallery.

    Couldn't I just have the images in a gallery directory and link them... instead of running through the frames and the upload/admin panel.??


    Same question for the Gig and News section of the site. How could I get around not using frames... but still have it easy to update the information?
     
  8. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Erm, use tables instead? My site is generated using a gallery generator program and I just update the galleries subdirectory with the generated code and the new pictures (a differential copy) which saves bandwidth and time.

    http://www.ukphotographs.com/galleries.html
     
  9. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    huh? :confused:

    what is a differential copy?

    My thinking was to just use the tables... and i don't think I need to worry about a gallery generator thingy, coz there aren't that many photos... so I can just do it manually.
     
  10. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would recommend downloading the entire site, and working locally, then upload what you have.
     
  11. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thanks matt!! I'm doing that as we type!

    I'll make sure to show you all what it looks like once I'm finished.
     
  12. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    another question

    Ok I've made the site using tables... and oooh looks nice. I've added a 1px wide image as the background.. oooh nice.

    But now I want the table to sit in the middle of the page - no matter what size screen you use.
    I've got it centered horizontally in the middle of the page - that was easy. But now I want to put it's vertical alignment in the center.

    What I've done for the moment is simply add a bunch of < br > tags to bump it down the page a little.

    Is there a better way of doing this?
     

Share This Page