DSLR focal length conversion & Wide-Adapters

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by JeffEmbracedDC, Aug 4, 2007.

1. JeffEmbracedDC

JeffEmbracedDC TPF Noob!

Hey, guys. So, I have a Canon Rebel XT with a Sigma 18-50mm lens.

I bought the 18mm lens because I thought it would get me an actual focal length of 18mm. After I bought the lens I realized that DSLR cameras such as mine have a smaller sensor size than actual 35mm film cameras basically causing an increase in focal length.

I believe the conversion ratio for the rebel XT is 1.6 which means my 18mm lens actually LOOKS like a 26mm lens. If I want it to LOOK like an 18mm focal length I would have to find an 11mm lens.

So my question is this. If I don't want to go spend $600+ on a new ultra-wide lens is there a way to get a wide type of photo from this lens? I'm not a professional by any means so image quality is not a #1 priority. Is there a way to thread wide adapter/filters on to my lens to get something close to an 18mm look?

Basically, if I can stack one or two or three 0.45x filters on to my 18mm lens and basically get the look I want for a few bucks I'd rather do that than spend over $600 on a new 12mm canon lens.

Thanks, guys.

-Jeff

2. killcrazy

killcrazy TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have a sony DSLR, with a 18-70mm lens, i have an x0.42 which bought for £30, (thats $60 to you)
    and gives me a "view" of around 7.5mm when set at its widest focal length.

the photos it porduces are pretty good, but obviously not as crisp and perfect as a lens that costs £500 or so. but for £30.... it produces some pretty fine images.

you will only be able to have one of these convertors attached to your lens, and they are quite large, and the longer the lens, the more distotion and the lower the F.stop you will have to use.

hope this helps

3. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit