DuPont Forest Waterfalls - Transylvania County NC - Part I

kundalini

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
It's my annual pilgrimige to the mountains. The drought in the Southeast has severely diminished the colors and watershed that are normally afforded visitors. This is my first attempt with waterfalls with a "real" camera. How did I do? After a six hour drive back, several shots after getting home, this is the best I could come up with. I think there's a few more in the bunch, but I couldn't be @ssed to do much more than this at present. I'll work them out over the weekend. These falls were in the film "Last of the Mohicans".

Enjoy and please comment on what you like or not.

Hooker Falls (lower falls)
DSC_4021_edited-2.jpg

DSC_4025_edited-1.jpg

DSC_4057_edited-1-1.jpg

My interest was piqued by the idea that a large chemical company had a forest named after it - tell me it ain't so!

Not a bad start I don't think, there are some nice colours going on in there and it's an attractive spot with potential. The main things I'd suggest would be to look around a little more for better angles to the falls - somewhere to the right of #1 & #2, and left of #3 would probably give you an improved viewpoint - assuming of course that you can get in position to take a shot. #3 has a lot of 'dead' space in front of the falls, zoom in a bit. Finally, use a variety of shutter speeds - you don't necessarily have to use the longest shutter speed you have to capture movement in the water and you would get away from the burnt out effect you have here.

Hope that's of use to you.

Very nice Fall photos. They do seem to be a little dark on my calibrated monitor. How long were your exposures?

I brightened your 2nd one just see the difference, hope you don't mind. I brightened everything slightly except for the brightest portions of the falls.

DSC_4025_edited-1_b.jpg