Dust in the barrel

mommy22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking at a lense on craigslist. The seller says

"The lens is in pretty good shape, with the exception of a little dust inside the lens barrel, which is fairly normal for a used lens. The dust doesn't show up in images unless the aperture is in the f/16 - f/22 range. The dust spots that DO show up at that point are usually pretty easy to remove in post processing using Photoshop or other similar programs."

Is this something that can be cleaned or not?

can be cleaned or not?

I'd say not. The lenses aren't made to come apart. The manufacturer may be able to service it if you send it in, but you may pay some big $'s for that.

Hmmm...I'd better keep looking around then. The guy seems in a hurry to sell it...

Unless it's a super deal on a high quality lens, might be the best idea. I'd see if anyone else weighs in though, I'm not very technical with lenses and stuff, you'll want to hear from someone like Derrel.

I tentatively made an appt to meet up in a few days. I am gonna call the camera shop and see what they say.

To me it sounds allot like sensor dust. I havent heard of dust coming into the barel actually affecting images. Not saying it cant happen, just that i havent heard of it before. On a cropped sensor however you wouldnt usually use aperture of f16-22 anyway because of diffraction so in the event that what he is saying is true it probably is not that big of a deal. Again however i'll let someone with experience chip in

All lenses will get dust in them eventually, especially zoom lenses: They're like an air pump. It won't affect the image though. Sounds like this person is referring to dust on the sensor showing up in the images. I imagine you'd need quite a bit of dust inside the lens for it to show up even at small apertures. Like a coating of it.

I am looking at a lense on craigslist. The seller says