Editing/processing

Naturegirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Not sure if this belongs in beginner's area, but I'm still a newbie and don't spend nearly the time here I should....and I'm new to digital....

anyway, I digress. My question is this. I recently purchased a Nikon D80. I LOVE it. I was one who SWORE never to go digital, and I've only picked up my 35mm a handful of times since getting the D80. However, I'm still resisting the editing side of it all. There is beautiful work out there, but it's not my niche I guess, and "what I shoot is what you get", pretty much sums it up. So, I was wondering if there are people who do NOT do any editing to their work. It seems to be the norm now, and I wonder if I can get a business going if I choose to not jump on the graphic art side of it all.

And another question. I'm a member of another message board & post pictures frequently (non-photo related board), but I can't seem to post them here. Is there a certain way I have to post them here? Something I'm missing. I'd like to post some stuff to get feedback, and it seems that people like to see a newbie's work.

Again, thanks. :)

ETA: Looks like I've been a member for over a year, and have only 6 posts. still a newbie indeed.

You'll find many opinions on edit vs. "what you get out of the camera". My suggestion is to just do what you are comfortable with.

However, you might want to think about it this way. Even if you just get JPEG files straight from the camera and have them printed, there is a lot of processing that goes on that you don't see (sharpening, noise reduction, white balance adjustments, contrast adjustment, color saturation adjustments, etc. etc. etc.). It still gets processed, it's just that your hands never get dirty doing it yourself!