Editing Tips

PPAAUULL

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have been doing photography for a couple of years now and I am getting the hang of taking the pictures but when I compare them to others on, let's say Flickr I find that no mater what I do, my pictures' colours look like junk, all washed out and dull even when I take them in the sun. Now I know real photographers never just take a picture and that is it so I have been reading around and found that editing the pictures colours and such might be able to help. What I would like to know is what should I be doing to the pictures every time I off-load them to my computer? What types of thing should I fix and edit with my pictures to get them looking more professional.

If you want to take a look at some of my pictures to give me a better idea you can find them at http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulvolk/

Thanks so much for the help.

Welcome to the forum.

With most images, I will use Photoshop to adjust the 'Levels' and then 'Curves'. Sometimes I will adjust the Hue/Saturation and maybe the Color Balance. I like to do each of these adjustments with it's own 'Adjustment Layer'

Sharpening can also help to give an image some 'Pop'.

What kind of Curve adjustment? I have played with the curves a bit but I didn't really see how it could help me that much.

The curves adjustment is usually a very small tweak...to increase the mid range contrast.

Check out this site http://www.luminous-landscape.com/
The Tutorials and the Understanding Series are filled with good information that is easy to read.

A lot of the pictures that I have seen on Flickr are ridiculously oversaturated. From what I saw on the first page of your Flickr page, your pictures look great! To me they are naturally vibrant and colorful, so I wouldn't worry about over tweaking them. A little touch up in Photoshop can always add some pop to a picture, though.