EF 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 vs. EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6

Which lens is better for automotive photography?

• 50mm 1.8

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 10-18mm 4.5-5.6

• other

• Total voters

maxusiaa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello fellow photographers! I literally just joined this page.
About 8 months ago I punched my first DSLR the canon 70D with the 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 lens
Not sure if I am using the lens wrong, but I just don't enjoy it..
In the last couple of months I acquired the "Nifty Fifty" and I am absolutely in love.

My main interested is automotive photography, and the 50mm isn't too shabby for that, but I've found the 18-135mm weak for it, either that, or I am using it wrong..

That is why I am considering the EF-S 10-18mm, am I making a mistake?
I love high bokeh therefore I know lower f/stops are key for that.

Could anyone recommend any affordable lenses for automotive photography ranging up to $500.
I am a beginner so I still want to experiment

or if I'm wrong and anyone has some fun tips for the 18-135mm lens..

Can you describe what you mean by "I've found the 18-135mm weak for it"? In order to recommend or look for a solution for an issue, we may need to know about the issue first. Technically, you can use wide range of lens or say, focal length with varies f-stop to take photo of cars or car models. It all depends what you are looking for.

For example, you are into car tuning field and like to use your camera to document a project inside a garage and found that once in awhile, you cannot compose the photo the way you want due to the field of view is not wide enough, then a lens with a shorter focal length or photo stitching maybe a solution. Of course, there are many different scenarios, some may involve additional lightings etc.