Effects of Teleconverters

tostitos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello I am somewhat new to photography (only been at it for about a year), and I have a few questions (but I did searches first to try to find information before making this post)
I thought I would start out with where I am at this point.
I have a Rebel G II with Factory 35-80mm 4-5.6 lens (52-58mm step up ring so I can use 58mm filters)
A Tamron 19-35 3.5-4.5 Lens
A Sigma Super II Macro 70-300mm 4-5.6 Lens
Remote Shutter Release, Tripod, 58mm Red, Green, Circ Polar, and Sky filters.

Now to my Queery.
I have been searching for information all over the net to learn about Teleconverters, and I have found some mixed information. For the most part I have learned that since my camera doesnt have mirror lock I shouldnt use shutter speeds slower than 1/125 sec to prevent blurr when using my 70-300mm lens when cranked up to 300, even for macro, but I have taken some very very good macro pictures right at 1/125 sec if not slower with iso 100 neg film. So I am thinking that my camera might handle mirror movment a littler better than the average.
But this leads into my question. If I need to maintain a shutter speed of aprox 1/125 sec, can I do this with my 300mm + the new Kenko 3x Teleconverter?
Let me set up the conditions I would use it under. First I understand that my 300mm + 3x Teleconverter results in a min f-stop of 16 (approx) and a 900mm Lens. So with this setup on bright sunny days, would I be able to maintain a film speed of atleast 1/125 sec, with ISO 400 Film, at 900mm magnification to take pictures of small birds? And if so would I be able to blow those pictures up to a max size of 4x6 and produce a good quality picture? (not professional grade)
Also would there be enough light coming through the lens for me to be able to focus the camera, or even see what I am shooting at?