Electricty issue

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by clockwurk, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. clockwurk

    clockwurk TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello, sorry in advance if this is a dumb questions, but I'm fairly new at this...

    I'm planning to buy this and set it up in my apt as home studio:
    Interfit Stellar X 1000 Flash Two Monolight Twin INT445 - B&H

    I wanted to know if there is anything I need to modify in my home, electricity wise so that it doesn't blow out a circuit or start a fire or something. I wanted to cover my bases and make sure I'm doing things correctly because I dont know anyone locally that can guide me to set this up.

    Any advice would be appreciated, including buying a different kit.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Ryan L

    Ryan L TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Shelbyville, MI
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm not a lighting expert, but I wouldn't think as long as a flash is it would be a problem. The modeling lights say 250 watt and those would be the one on any amount of time. My toaster is almost 1000 watts, and I like toast, so it stays on a while. lol My microwave is 1800 watts. You should be fine. You could put a GFI in if you were really worried, they're only like 5-10 bucks.
     
  3. Derrel

    Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,456
    Likes Received:
    12,797
    Location:
    USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I think you'll be okay with two, 1,000 watt-second monolights...Ryan's toaster probably draws more amps than the capacitors in these monolights draw, since their recycle is spread over a few seconds, whereas the toaster is drawing current more or less for 2 minute straight AND I have it on good authority that RYan ALSO runs the microwave at the same time, re-warming last night's coffee on days when he's running late WHILE he's making toast!
     
  4. Nod

    Nod TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Illinois
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The specs say that they require a 15 amp circuit. As long as you don't have to much of a load on the circuit you should be OK. If your going to set this up in a studio, I'd recommend having a "dedicated" circuit installed. That way there would never be an overload. (retired electrician)
     
  5. clockwurk

    clockwurk TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    lol, thanks guys. I really appreciate it. :)
     
  6. rallysman

    rallysman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Agreed with Nod.
    Make sure the circuit you chose doesn't already have a large load on it. Make sure there are no window AC units, refrigerators, space heaters, or other high current devices on the circuit.
     

Share This Page