Emergency Services/Fire Ground Photography

STICKMAN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Are there any members here who are fireground photographers??? Such as fire, ems, police scenes etc. I have played around for a few years now with fireground and such. As a retired firefighter I find it interesting to see things through the lens now versus being in it........ Was looking for anytips or tricks to photographing these types of things. There is always so much to deal with , lights, smoke, fast moving objects and things that change from second to second. So if anyone out here can help me out im all ears.......... Thanks

I'd actually like to know how you can get engaged in doing such a thing... I assume most firefighters wouldn't want you anywhere near a fire?

I am a retired firefighter/Lieutenant so thats how I have my end covered. However most departments are more then willing to set something up with you so long as you prove that you can folllow orders and not get in the way or over step your boundries. So long as you operate in a safe manor most places would be more then happy to have you taking photos for them. As firefighters we rarely get to see our selves in action, photos and video serve many purposes, training, C C, memories, department history and such. If interested stop by your local fire department ahead of time and explain your interest. You will know right off the bat if they are for it or not. NEVER just push your way on to someones scene with out permisson doing so can land you locked up. Some deparments may even make you a dept. photgrapher and issue you some form of id/gear/etc in exchange for your services. This mean coming out to drills(training), Calls, Functions(parades etc). Once you get involved you will be hooked, the work these people do is amazing and to have the chance to catch in on film video etc is amazing.

Here are some of my shots from a fire monday night;