Engagement Pictures for a friend

Santa Gertrudis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, I used them for practice anyway. I have never worked with people before, so this was more of a learning experience than anything. They already have a set of professional engagement shots. Anyway, here are my favorites.

Last edited:
I'm new to this all, so take my CC as you like.

The first 6 look like nice snapshots to me. Nothing special really. The exposure/lighting on #2 is just funky. Maybe someone else can elaborate more articulately.

#7 is OK but I think I'd like more DOF. The background is just a big blob of green. Again, maybe a more skilled member can elaborate.

I like the focus/DOF and composition on #8, I just feel like the ring is out of place for some reason. Is it hiding or is it not?

And is 8 pictures a lot to ask for CC? Again, I'm new :)

All in all, I'd say they look like a sweet couple and their smiles are great. They were probably a lot of fun to shoot with. Try it again but maybe get a little more creative with the composition in the couples shots.

The 1st and 2nd ones are really washed out and gray. I love the facial expressions in the 1st, but the guy in the 2nd looks like he's caught a whiff of something foul.

3 - Nice exposure, and nice composition.

4 - I love this shot. Originally I was going to say it should have been a vertical shot, but then I saw the winding road in the background... so now I wish the couple was off to the right so that we could see the lines of the road better.

5 - What a fun shot, I'm sure they'll love it.

6 - This is my favorite, great composition, posing and background.

7 - Beautiful, nice focus.

8 - At first I was wondering what this picture was doing mixed in with engagement pictures, and then I noticed the ring. The color of the flowers pops out and draws away from the ring. I'll admit it was a creative thought, but I don't think it works.