Engagement shoot for friend

alohahannah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
My friend was not too keen on the idea of an engagement shoot; however, her fiance persuaded her to have some pictures taken or else she may regret not having a few made later on. She came to me asking if I would take the pictures because she wanted to help me out and get my name out there in the community. Since I am an amateur (and she is one of my closest friends) I am not charging. She understands that I am not a paid professional. Regardless, I would still like to try my best and give her the best pictures possible. I have a couple of questions before the shoot...

**I have a Canon Rebel T1i, 50mm f/1.8 lens, 55-250mm f/4-5.6 lens, and a 75-300mm f/4-5.6 lens.**
  1. My friend is, at the most, 4'10", and her fiance is 6'3". Any suggestions on some poses and the best lens to use in this situation?
  2. She REALLY wants some pictures made in a field. Given an open field and, hypothetically, a bright/sunny day, which settings should I apply?

If you friend is not uncomfortable with the height difference, take a few shots with them standing. Otherwise, minimize the difference by having the sit or be placed in a situation where their heads are not 15" apart.

Are you comfortable shooting in the PSAM modes? I assume you are if you wish to make money on your photography. What's your plan at this point?

Posing your subjects is a large part of success when shooting portraits in bright sunlight. IMO it's not going to be any specific settings as much as judging the situation and adjusting appropriately. Become comfortable with your fill flash use and learn your metering system.