Enlarger Cropping and the darkroom

hammy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm just learning the basics about the darkroom. I've never been in or used a darkroom, but plan on building one soon with a buddy of mine... Anyways, i've been reading and have read that when first composing a photo, you should not fill the viewfinder with your subject, as when it comes time to enlarge it, it will not fit perfectly on the paper because the format of the film is different.
Well my basic question is, can't you just raise the enlarger's head and leave sort of a "frame" around the whole image so you can fit the whole image without doing any "cropping"? :confused: Eh?

hammy said:
can't you just raise the enlarger's head and leave sort of a "frame" around the whole image so you can fit the whole image without doing any "cropping"?

Well, yeah. :confused: I'm not sure what you meant in the original statement about the format of the film being different. As I understand it the viewfinder on SLRs does not show the exact same composition that will be produced on the film, in other words it's slightly off, but I don't see what that has to do with enlargement. On the other hand the easel may cover the sides and top of the paper, depending on what type you're using, but again I don't see why this would affect the initial composition of the photo. Is there any chance you could copy the original quote from wherever you read it?

hmmm, what I am thinking is that your literature is probably referring to 35mm film, which is definitely a format does not properly enlarge to fill 8x10 photo paper. BUT that does not mean that cropping is always going to be necessary. You can project the entire image (full bleed) on an 8x10 sheet, but you WILL end up with a smaller scale image.....it won't give you a perfect 1/4" border all the way around.