EOS 20D or Rebel XTi

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by crunchberry, Nov 21, 2008.

1. crunchberry

crunchberry TPF Noob!

ok so i am looking to purchase a new dslr camera and i've kinda narrowed it down between these two. what i really want is a camera that will take good, sharp pictures. im not exactly new to photography but i am by no means an expert.

im really interested in doing HDR photos so a camera that would make HDR easy would be sweet.

the main reason i've been looking at these two cameras is because their near my price range, i've heard good things about them, and i do like canon.

can anyone help me to choose a camera. i'm up for suggestions of other cameras as well.

thanks

oh and i'll probly need to purchase a new lens for it so any suggestions would be great

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome aboard.

Sounds like you are looking at used cameras...but new to you. ;)

They are both good cameras and will be equally capable of helping you with HDR or anything else.

The biggest different is the size of the cameras and the layout of the controls. The 20D is a bigger, heavier body but it's also more robust and (IMO) has a better feel and control layout.

If you can, I'd suggest holding either camera in your hands, to get a feel of which one would be best for you. If you can't find them (because they are both discontinued) you might try holding a 40D or 50D and comparing that to the newest Rebel.

As for a lens, it really depends on your budget. If you don't have a lot to spend, I'd recommend both the EF-S 18-55mm and the EF 50mm F1.8.

3. rufus5150

rufus5150 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I thought they just discontinued the RebelXT (Canon still shows the XTi as part of their current lineup).

4. crunchberry

crunchberry TPF Noob!

yes i am looking for a used one, exactly, but...