Equipment question

lkWinnipesaukee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Right now, I have a Promaster EF 80-210mm f4.5-5.6. Its worth about $90.

What I wanted to do was sell that, buy an XTI body, and buy a (maybe faster) higher quality wide-telephoto EF lens (instead of getting the kit lens for the XTi).

My question: does anyone know of any EF lenses that run around $200? The faster the better. Maybe a step up from the kit lens? I'd like, maybe, one of those all around lenses that go from wide to telephoto.

Thanks

edit: I should say I also have a 50mm f1.8.

edit 2: What about this? f3.5-4.5, USM, and macro:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/con...34&is=GREY&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation

About what zoom range are you looking at? There are plenty f choices in the sub $200 range, but your going to have to settle for a f4 if your sticking with canon lenses. Sigma makes several great lenses in that price range that are f3.5.

the first thing to understand is that fast, zoom, and cheap cant not all be used together. We all have to deal with that fact, as hard as it is :( .

What will you be shooting? or what kind of focal length range are you looking for? That will help narrow it down.

I'm thinking about 28-105mm. I will be shooting pretty much anything I find is picture-worthy. I will also use this lens for shooting school events (plays, pep rallies, other miscalaneous events) which have some movement to them that I would like to freeze (i.e. hand gestures).

Thanks

The XT is still a great body. there are a few things that it lacks from the XTi, but nothing that will prevent you from taking great pictures.

As for that lens, it is no doubt a good lens, but the IS wont help you freeze the action. All IS does is allow you to shoot a slower shutterspeed handheld, but if your subject is moving, only a faster shutterspeed will correct that blur.