Equipment Upgrade

blondegirl88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've recently started a photography business which is going well so far ::fingers crossed:: and I'm looking to upgrade my camera body as I currently have a Canon Rebel XTi which was my first DSLR that I got before the business venture, I also have a Rebel as a backup. I've done two weddings as well as a few other shoots and have more scheduled for next spring/summer already. The weddings that I've done so far have only been family and friends who are fully aware that I'm just starting out and I haven't been charging much. I know that I need better equipment before I venture more into the weddings, especially with clients that I don't personally know, hence the reason for this thread. I am frustrated (understandably I'm sure) with the Rebel, particularly in terms of ISO noise and quality of shots straight out of the camera. I have a battery grip, a 580EX II speedlite, and 3 lenses (2 are EF-S and I believe one is EF) which are all Canon brand, I have a 28-135 IS (f/3.5), a 55-250 IS, and a 17-85 IS (both f/4.0); they are a bit slower and more all-around so I'm totally aware that I need a couple of faster lenses. I am trying to decide between a Canon 7D or 5D, though I'm leaning towards the 7D. The main things keeping me on the fence between the two bodies are price, replacing 2-3 lenses with the 5D and do I really need a full frame camera (in terms of function differences between the two bodies while doing weddings and graduation/portraits). Any other recommendations for Canon bodies are welcome but those are the two that I've found that seem to fit my needs the best. Thanks for everyone's help/opinions!

I'm definitely under $2,000 but would like to stay under $1500 if possible